Workout Zones

I’m new to zwift and just starting to get into a training plan. I’m doing the beginner plan now. If the directions of a workout tell me I should be spending 40% in zone 1 and 60% in zone two, but I’m more in zone 2 and 3, what should I do differently. I’m staying with the watts and cadence’s that zwift is telling me to use. Want to maximize my gains.

You can lower your ftp a bit (manually by editing your profile settings) so you are actually riding in z1 and z2 as prescribed by the workout.

Thanks. Would that be the recommended way to go even if I have no real problem keeping up with the program the way I’m doing it? Riding in zones 2 and 3 feels fine, but if pushing it is reducing my gains, I’ll lower it.

Maybe you should do an ftp test then do your workouts based on your new ftp. Regarding beginner workout plan being too easy, I’d still stick with it since it’ll build your base fitness at least. After that do harder workouts. Can’t hurt.

I did do an ftp test. I suppose I’ll just l or the number a bit and see how that goes.

if you start with a beginner program it does make sense that the majority of your sessions are z1-z2. the goal of that being a) getting into a routine of training (not just the difficulty but also getting used to riding a few hours a week, body position, etc) and b) building a base level of fitness, i.e. endurance.

most training programs also have you do 80% of training sessions in the z2 region and only 20% at or above z4. z3 is avoided due to that zone not showing greater gains.

the above is true for cyclists who actually have no time limitations for training . those with limited time available (weather, work, etc) are often advised to train at “sweetspot”, which is between z3 and z4 for best gains over time.

(you can google “polarized training” and “sweetspot training” for more info)