Routes how do speed & gradient work

Hi, I’m new to Zwift. Did a couple of experimental rides and the a FTP test. Today I followed a route London Pretzel. It consisted of a few laps round central London and then a couple of climbs in the Surrey Hills. My question concerns the speed and gradient when following a route. I’m spinning along trying to keep cadence reasonable and power lowish under control. One minute I’m spinning along at 20 mph or more, the next 10 mph or less. On the bike it feels no different, same cadence, same power, same resistance. What’s changed in Zwift is the gradient which has suddenly increased. The feel on the bike has not changed but Zwift has halved my speed. How does Zwift calculate my virtual speed? I don’t have a speed censor nor a power meter.

Hi @David_Shaw2 and welcome to the Forums.
Check out this thread: How Does Zwift Determine My Speed?

2 Likes

What sort or trainer do you have?

Elite Directo XR

Make sure you have the Controllable device paired, as well as Power and Cadence from the trainer.

It sounds like you don’t have Controllable paired, and if so then that would explain why you don’t feel the pedalling resistance change with the gradient.

What’s the Controlable? The Trainer is paired to Zwift by Bluetooth. The power readings seem pretty accurate. My FTP test result was pretty much what I was expecting

Thanks. In other words Zwift does a calculation to estimate what my speed would be given various variables such as power, gradient, weight?

I haven’t tried a training programme ride yet. My understanding is that if I do Zwift will control the resistance to generate the programme power regardless of which gear I ride in in the bike. I believe from what I’ve read it’s best to select small chain ring and a larger cog?

Sorry, David, I’ve just started a 3-hour ride :sweat_smile: so can’t help more right now.