Race Rider Groupings Based On Historic Average Watts Per Time

I’m a newbie at Zwift and was surrounded by cones of shame who destroyed me in my first race. Not fun. I read up on Zwiftpower/forums to learn more. Lets face it, we all want to challenge for a win and some of us will cheat or sandbag to get there. The only “truth” of a virtual rider is their recent race stats for avg. watts for 20, 60, 120, etc. minutes. W/kg is bogus because weight cannot be validated.

What if Zwift had races where you are seeded into groups based on similar recent historic Watt stats and everyone rides at the same “race weight”? Now this sounds fun. With this I’m guaranteed to be surrounded similar strength riders. The high finishers in these races likely will improve there avg. stats and will be seeded higher in the next race, giving others a chance for the next win if they had a bad race. Assuming Zwift could track wins, they could even seed group cut-offs so that riders without podiums are the strongest of the group. Love it or too many holes?

Take a look at this thread: Auto-Assign Race Categories - #27 by Gerrie_Delport_ODZ

I weigh 50kg. Are you saying I should shift the same weight as you up a mountain?

How about instead of seeding group cutoff so that riders without podiums are the strongest we just don’t show results and give everyone a participation badge :grin:

Hi @Paul_Allen. I also like the ideas in that thread. My idea differs because weight cheating is also taken out of the equation.