New to this…

Hello Zwifters,

I’m brand new to Zwift and to cycling generally.

Already loving all things cycling and can see it being a very addictive sport (and potentially expensive one).

I’m looking for some help from seasoned pros around training and what training programs to hit up.

I’ve committed to a charity event that will involve cycling from Edinburgh in Scotland to Paris France in October this year.

I have a very basic core fitness level and zero road cycling experience. I plan on using Zwift as a safe way to get used to the bike before hitting the roads and then using training programs to build fitness and endurance to supplement the road work I’ll do. (I live in Scotland where it rains a lot, so expect to maximise Zwift time for training purposes).

We’ll be hitting around 200km per day for the first 4 days of the challenge then down to around 100km for the last 3 days.

Questions are: 1- what would be the best training program to get me ready for this on Zwift? I have looked but not sure what one to follow that will fit my level of fitness and experience. Has anyone started from a similar position?

2- can I just hop on any rides to build up saddle time, outwith a structured training program? Or is this frowned upon by experienced riders?

Appreciate I am a complete novice but what I lack in experience I will make up for in determination and am taking this very seriously.

Any help/advice/tips on anything from nutrition to training to kit would be amazing and hugely appreciated.

Best,

Jamie

Welcome to the forum.

That is a lot of riding 1100km over 7 days. That sound like 10 hours days and 6 hours for the short days. that is assuming you are new to cycling.

I would start of with gauging how many hours per week you can do in the saddle. I would think hours in the saddle is the top priority now.

4 Likes