Minimum and maximum Smart TV specs for Apple 4kTV

I’ve been Zwifting for a couple of years with an Apple TV4k and a Samsung 32" Smart TV and it’s been simple and stable and the picture quality has been pretty good.

I now want to go to a larger TV screen for a more immersive effect, so I’ll be shopping for something this week. My question is - what are the minimal Smart TV specifications that I need, and since I assume the Apple TV4k will be the limiting factor for video quality, what is the maximum that the Apple TV4k can process/handle? i.e. I don’t want to overspend on the Smart TV if I don’t have to.

Your assumption that the Apple TV 4K is the limiting factor is correct. No matter what TV you connect it to, the realtime 3D graphics will look exactly the same - a 1080p picture (with only the text overlays in 4K), and a frame rate up to 30 fps, with low resolution models and no shadows, so here are 4 things to consider - 1) a 4K TV will not make the picture more detailed or smoother. 2) a screen size of over say 43" would start to look blocky and jerky at the edges, unless you also increase the resolution and frame rate on the ATV 4K, which you cannot, and 3) you may not need any of the ‘Smart’ features at all given that you already have the ability to run apps on the ATV. A non-smart 43" 1080p TV in Black Friday sales is what I would get if I were you. Can you even buy a non-smart TV these days?

1 Like

Excellent! Thanks for all of that as you answered important questions that I didn’t even ask! I’m not much of a tech nor TV guy, so it hadn’t occurred to me that the Apple TV already has the Smart features… I’ll get a 43" 1080p non-Smart TV - and like you said - if I can find one.

i zwift on this, and it’s really nice: