Help understanding w/kg in a race (Event ID 2771206)

Hi, I did a race yesterday, entered in the A race as required by ZP (event ID is 2771206). My w/kg was 4.5+ ish the whole race , as was one other A grade who ended up in a group with me, but we were hugely dropped by/hanging on with guys with B beside their name after the first climb, and whose w/kg never rose above 4. I ended up finishing far behind a load of B’s - I’m ok with that but looking at their power data I can’t figure how. I’ve entered a few races previously under B and been UPG’d because I’ve had to put out this type of w/kg just to keep up.

Even on the climb, when I was hitting 5.5+ I couldn’t drop these guys who were doing 3. I’m no expert but assumed that w/kg was a big factor esp on climbs.

Appreciate any advice/comments you can provide.

The event ID is 4644529 (I think!).

Legsnapper is not a climb, it’s a punchy hill that takes 30secs-1min of hard effort. Look at the 1 minute and 30 sec power of the top B riders and compare them to yours. You will find your answer there.

1 Like

Yeah, I get that. But I was watching the w/kg while on the climb and there were no 30-sec/1min power increases - just a nice easy 3.5w/kg and dropping me while I pushed more… ah well, just interested really.

Hi Dean, thanks for the reply. This image doesn’t really show the full story as I know it’s a snapshot, but my w/kg was 4.5+ ish the whole race (I’m J.Sanderson (Buxton CC)), as was one other A grade you can see in the group with me, but we were hugely dropped by/racing/hanging on with guys with B beside their name, and whose w/kg never rose above 4. Even on the climb, when I was hitting 5.5+ I couldn’t drop these guys who were doing 3. I’m no expert but assumed that w/kg was a big factor esp on climbs.

The event ID is 4644529 (I think!).

“could not find event”

EDIT: here you are: ZwiftPower - Login