Heart Rate - Warning Atrial Fibulation

Often when out training on the bike i would get feeling in my throat that was like my shirt collar was too tight, i assumed it was exercise induced asthma and never really perceived it as an issue as it would disappear once the session was over.
With the Covid lockdown i started riding on Zwift and noticed thanks to the BPM on display that when an episode occurred my heart rate would shoot up from the normal @160 to over 200 BPM (Peak was 241).

I visited the cardiologist to find out if i should do anything about it ?
I wore a ECG HRM for 24 hrs and had a few minutes of High BPM in a zwift session for them to review and due to my low heart rate drugs were not an option.

An ablation was attempted but they could not find the source (after injecting you with andrenaline to rasie the bpm) so diet etc are my only options atm.

It would be a nice feature to provide an indicator of an abnormal HR so that an early intervention may be made.

Surely not too hard to tell there is a problem ?

Not sure how this would work as I have the opposite, always struggle to get my heart rate up and have to kick start it with a 2 min hard effort after 15 mins into warmup, from then on my heart reacts as normal. So what would zwift recognise as “normal”, ie unreactive HR or the one reacting to harder efforts.
I don’t think Zwift are medically qualified to tell us we have a problem is the general gist.

1 Like

This was my first thought too. I also don’t think Zwift wants to get into the role of providing medical advice. And if this was something they started pointing out, I’m pretty sure it would only be about 2 minutes before they were sued by someone who had an issue that their algorithm didn’t pick up.

1 Like

Thanks Rob, my resting heart rate is low 40’s and normal max is @165 what’s your max heart?