1st Race I’m confused

I’m new to Zwift & enjoying it but my issue came today when entering my first race on a classic trainer elite Volare in setting 3 that I was dusted at the starting line & as I’m not sure my classic trainer is a Zwift registered trainer that I’m assured it is I dropped my gear setting from 3 to 2 & rode most of the race in top gear to still finish bottom end of the standings . My average speed was off the charts for me at 22mph average but still I got destroyed WTF!

Welcome to Zwift racing!

:rofl::+1:

2 Likes

@Stuart_Williamson1 yes racing is all jacked up currently as there is no regulation you have to enter the correct category. Zwift has noted they are working on revamping the racing side to make it a better experience for everyone.

Looking at your activity on the companion app it shows a D race (< 2.4 w/kg) and there were 34 participants. Out of that the top 27 finishers were out of category (had higher than 2.4 w/kg).

Based on your result you should be racing in Cat C races technically.

1 Like

Hi Stuart, welcome to the forum.

I looked at your result and you did good power 304w and 3.05w/kg. With those numbers you should be in the front of the race.

All i can think of is that you used the TT bike or the mountain bike. The TT bike can’t draft so you can’t sit in the bunch and rest a bit. The mountain bike is slow and heavy.

But as most know it isn’t just the w/kg you put out but how you use those watts that wins races. And all the others with higher than category w/kg entered. Which shouldn’t be the case for a Cat D race. Can’t wait until the revamped racing is implemented cause as a legit Cat D racer it is frustrating coming in bottom 10% because people sign up for the wrong Cat, and yes I am on zwiftpower just annoying we have to use that to determine our “true” results.

3 Likes

You are not the only one. I think my first post about it was in 2018.

Edit: 2016