Is a heart rate monitor crucial for training?

At 44, I have recently become a more serious cyclist and this Fall got a Zwift-compatible smart trainer and cadence monitor. I have been working on some of the training programs on Zwift and have been wondering if I should add a heart rate monitor. I have never done any kind of formal athletic training and I don’t know what an HRM would do for me or what I would do with the information it gave back. Since these things are $100+ dollars, I’m wondering if it’s worth it for me to get one or not.

Thanks!
_matthew

Hi Matthew,
training with a heart rate monitor can be very useful even though these days
power numbers are often seen as more important. (having both is probably the best set up)

I am sure you can get a heart rate monitor and chest strap for about $50 which link to Zwift. Some Polar monitors can link and record at the same time which can also be of use.
I’m no expert on this subject but always train with one myself.
Before you spend it would be worth reading as much as you can on training with a HRM to see if it is something you want to get into.
From a Zwift point of view if you are thinking of maybe some racing most of the racing organisers like to see users display heart rates. This is mainly for the upper levels or Cats
I have always used a HRM. For me it is more important than power as if my heart rate is higher than normal for a given effort or power it means I have a problem. I am perhaps under the weather, have a cold, dehydrated maybe etc, so take it easy or have a day or two off.

Morning pulse can be a good indication of well being and there are phone apps that test your (HRV) heart rate variability, which is a more scientific check on well being with the idea that it can determine how hard you should train that day or if you need a rest day.