Heavy guys have more fun?

I completed my first race after signing up. Finished 13 of 32 in D category. After this I was DQed due to a higher W/kg than allowed. The following day I signed up for a group ride in C - but were no way near able to keep up with anyone. The same thing happened in my C race today. I then noticed, that many riders in the top weigh around 100kg which, quite frankly would never happen up front on the road. I am a small 63kg guy. Is there a bias towards heavier cyclists - or is there anyway I can compete in D which is clearly my level? Should I just accept being DQed when racing in the middle of the pack in D or accept coming in last in C. I suspect I will never be able to compete for top spots regardless of the category due to my weight and thus high W/kg.

As a beginner, I am still trying to figure out how things work. I might have missed something here. But I hope the seasoned bunch can help sort it out and explain it :grinning::facepunch:

Yep. This is one of the big problems with Zwift’s w/kg system, and why real-life cycling doesn’t use a system like that.

Lots of discussion on this in the Racing forum, if you’re interested.

You averaged 3.2 W/kg in your Crit City Race according to ZwiftPower - you are a most definitely a C.

In the current W/kg system, you simply have to lean how to race smarter, and pick courses that suit you.

2 Likes

Zwift has no bias to any weight. But the racing categories is basically weight classes on flat routes. That is why racing in zwift need a ranking system.

Play to your strength and pick hilly races.