Zwift with Laptop - Need my phone now too

(Steve Nelms) #1

(Paul Allen) #2

Can you explain your issues a little more.

(Steve Nelms) #3

Been using zwift 4 times a week and worked great for the last 2 months.  Then Sunday 3/18, zwift (on laptop) won’t pair with trainer.  After 30 minutes of futzing around, I realized it worked with my phone. I did some research and some are saying that a phone is required to bridge between laptop and trainer.  But I’ve been using for 2 months with out the phone with no issues.  Tried again this am and still need the phone. They did do an update recently I believe, but was wondering why I all of a sudden now have to use the phone too, kind of annoying since never needed before.

(Paul Allen) #4

Please give a run down of your Zwift setup.

(Steve Nelms) #5

When it was working, I had an newer HP laptop paired to a Tacx T2400 Satori Smart Trainer using bluetooth.  I also have a ant+ USB hooked up to laptop for HR. This combination worked perfectly until Sunday 3/18 at which point I had to start using my phone for bridging.

(Paul Allen) #6

The Tacx Satori broadcast in both ANT+ and Bluetooth, so you don’t need the ZCA to bridge the connection. 

There was no way you were connecting the Tacx Satori using Bluetooth directly to an HP laptop running Windows, that has NEVER been possible with Zwift. You had to have been either using ANT+ or using the ZCA (previously the ZML) to bridge the Bluetooth connection.

(Tammy Parker (D)) #7

This same thing happened to me as well.  I have a MacBook Pro and CycleOps Hammer.  Was able to just use ANT dongle but now have to use phone for trainer to pair. Not a problem, but I didn’t have to do this before.

Tammy Parker

(Paul Allen) #8

Tammy,

Not the same issue since you have a Mac and he has a PC.

(Steve Nelms) #9