Zwift with a 1x10 (MTB)

(Brian Thomas [MTB]) #1

So I’m new to Zwift (Yay Christmas) and have a Mountain bike which is a 1x10. I’ve noticed that on flats, I can’t sustain a very high power likely due to the front ring being a medium sized ring instead of running on a 2x10 with a large/small ring up front.  Is there any way to be able to generate more power on the straights and then be able to adjust it on the DH so that I can keep up more with the majority of the road bikers out there?

Thanks a ton folks,

Brian

(Steve Ellis) #2

Brian: I suspect that it’ll be useful to know what trainer you are using and how you’re running Zwift (PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, etc.), and what sensors you’re using (Garmin ANT+, Wahoo Bluetooth, etc.).

I won’t know the answer for your 1x10 but I suspect the info above will help.

Welcome to Zwift! 

(Brian Thomas [MTB]) #3

Wahoo Kickr trainer
Ant+ Garmin Dongle for my laptop
Garmin Fenix 3 HR watch
Android Phone for managing in game
Laptop Windows -> TV (HDMI)

I should also note I don’t want to increase the power I need to exert full time, I’d just like to do it on flats and downhills so I can keep up with the folks around me.  If I had to increase the power full time, I’d get destroyed on the up hills as I wouldn’t be able to pedal on steeper sections due to the size of my front sprocket and rear cassette.

(Paul Allen) #4

Brian,

The only way you could increase your speed on the flats is to use the Zwift TT bike or draft off of another rider. The Kickr broadcast the actual watts you are producing and Zwift uses that plus, elevation changes, your weight, in game bike used, and drafting to give you your in game speed. 

Not sure what you are really asking for.

(Brian Thomas [MTB]) #5

@Paul,