Zwift + Windows + Bluetooth

(mukul sud) #1

Hey Guys,

I’m super new to Zwift - I just got a Tacx Smart Trainer and am really struggling with getting it connected. I tried Googling for 30 mins and couldn’t get it to work - I don’t think I’m missing anything (I work in tech so I think I have the basics right).

The Zwift software on PC doesn’t recognize my built in Bluetooth drivers - its a standard Intel Bluetooth device that windows pulled drivers for. The software seems overly simplified and doesn’t give me much info - I just see an explanation mark on the top left over the Bluetooth symbol. So dead-end there.

I then read one of Zwifts support articles saying I could connect to the trainer using the Android App. They have screenshots that show that in the Settings Menu there is an option for Sensors - but I don’t see that at all. My app is current and below the Notifications option I only see Connections and not Sensors as the screenshot indicates.

I don’t want to go down the ANT+ route - its an aging technology and all my sensors on my bike + heart rate monitor are Bluetooth.

Any suggestions?

Thank you! 

(E Cheever) #2

Hi there,

This is currently an issue with Tacx Smart Trainers since the 9/29 update. For whatever reason Zwift isn’t recognizing Tacx BT trainers as a power source. There are a few threads following this. Customer Support with Zwift said a patch was coming late this week or early next week. Otherwise your only option is a ANT+ Dongle for now until they push out the update to fix it.

Link following Tacx Vortex issues: https://support.zwift.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/210511403-TACX-Vortex-Smart-device-no-longer-appearing-in-Power-Source-post-Zwift-update

(Eric C. (Zwift HQ)) #3

Hi Mukul,

The screenshot says “For iOS Only” right above it - the Android app does not need you to turn your sensors on as it does it automatically.

We’ll make it a bit clearer in the article.