Zwift Race Categories

(David Mitchell) #1

I’m new to Zwift and really enjoying it. I entered my first race this week and carefully picked the race category (2.5 W/kg to 3.2 W/kg) to match my limited capabilities. The winner had a power to weight ratio greater than 4 as did most of the top 10. This happened in a different race to a friend of mine too. Whilst I am not that competitive, it seems silly to categorise races and then let absolutely anyone join. They stop being races and the fun/pain/motivation of jostling for positions disappears. Am I alone in thinking this is daft? If not, what can be done about it? Thanks.

(Steve Ellis) #2

Zwift themselves don’t prevent any rider from joining a race. But check out this third party site where the results will filter out those whose efforts have shown they’re out of sync with the race category:  https://www.zwiftpower.com/race.php .

(Mark Kidd (C)) #3

it used not to be like this. When I was racing some 6+ months ago you might get one or two racers upgraded because they had slightly over-performed the race category.

Now it seems to be happening most races. Last night I did a race where 13 out of the 23 riders were upgraded.

The problem now during races is that you can’t tell whom you’re racing against. Now, on the rider list you only see the riders who signed up to the same category as you. Previously I would be checking the list to see how far behind or ahead I was against the other riders and I would be judging my effort to catch up or drop people. Now most of the people you see on the rider list are far beyond your capabilities, and the ones you should be racing against are not on the list at all.

(colin steele) #4