Zwift for us old, fat guys.

(Karl Krasnowsky) #1

First, love this software (other than not having native bluetooth support on win10) but as much as it’s tough for me to admit, I’ve fallen out of race shape and working to get back on the horse, so to speak.

Not surprisingly, your software (IMO) is geared towards competition, and encourages users to hop in and start riding and competing with others.

Is there a training path that works with those needing to get their capacity back without the group competition mindset? I’m not sure what this would look like, but possibly solo rides that push your base thresholds in specific areas (I guess sorta like TrainerRoad with better visuals) until one feels comfortable getting back in the pack?

Since I’m very new to Zwift, I wouldn’t be surprised if this already existed.so If you could point me to the relevant information on doing this I would appreciate it.

(Paul Allen) #2

Have you checked out the Workouts available within Zwift?

Or you could just ride solo.

I have been using Zwift for year and have yet to do a group ride/race and I don’t plan on ever doing one. Do not feel you are obligated to do group rides/races or to compete against anyone while using Zwift.

(David Griscom YCW) #3

Karl, no matter how good you get there is always going to be somebody flying past you.  You just need to shut that out and compete against yourself.  Any workout that TrainerRoad has can be replicated as a workout in Zwift using the editor.  The other thing is to focus on your PRs.  Try to compete against yourself for lap times, sprints and hill climbs using your PR as the carrot.  Don’t worry about the times other people are posting

(malcolm may (WCC) C) #4

Karl, I’m an old fat guy. There are plenty out there. Don’t worry. Not everyone is racing. Some of us are just surviving. I ride a lot of flats. Do the occasional sprint, and sometimes take it up the hill. Just enjoy it

(Slow Brewer) #5