Wild Wattage Fluctuations

(Cody Wright) #1

Hi there,

I’m new to Zwift, using a Wahoo Kickr Snap and Wahoo Tickr connected via bluetooth (I’ve tried both via mobile app and directly connected to computer).

I tried doing the FTP test, and during the segments where it tells you to maintain a specific wattage, I noticed it was near impossible to complete each section successfully. The wattage would, by the second, fluctuate from around 60 watts to 299 watts. At first I thought it was due to some delay between hardware and software, but when I tried maintaining a steady cadence, the problem persisted.

Is this an “ERG mode” issue? Is there something I can try to smooth it out? 

(Jason K) #2

Fluctuating wattage is usually a sign your signal is dropping out. See our troubleshooting article here: https://support.zwift.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000111566-My-Bluetooth-signal-is-Dropping?section=201145295

Hope this helps!

(Graham Wright) #3

Sorry to hijack this but I am having the same issue although using Ant+ with a kickr Snap. Everything was working fine up until Tuesday (doing FTP builder) but now I’m constantly being told to increase power and then reduce power and so on. Nothing has changed in my setup at all and I don’t have any such problems with Trainerroad.

Incidentally I get the same issue if I use my power meter so it’s not the Kickr either. If it’s the same tomorrow I will be heading back to Traineroad full time. 

(Tazio Nuvolar (CLS)) #4

At what I perceive is a pretty stable speed, my wattage constantly fluctuates by 3-8 watts. Normal or is my speed sensor mis-aligned?  I have a wahoo blue sc on a lemond revolution.

(Cody Wright) #5

Basically I’ll be holding steady at, say 145 watts. Suddenly the watts will jump to say 190 (and if I’m in a workout it will yell at me to reduce power), then a few seconds later it will drop to say 80 (and the workout yells at me to increase power).