Trainer difficulty change

(Lisa Stone) #1

Hi,

I noticed that after the most recent update (2/27/18), that my Smart trainer (Elite) resistance/difficulty is much higher, despite having it still set at 50% as I always have.  Grinding up to the tower, the resistance is much higher as it is for even 6% or lower gradients. It feels more like 100%.

Is it just me or is anyone else noticing a change?

Thanks

(Olaf Hey) #2

+1 (Tacx Neo, latest firmware applied)

I’m fairly new to Zwift but I definitely noticed a change in behaviour since 1st of March too. If you ride alone, it is not that obvious but riding with someone else, it is near impossible.

Some observations along, may or may not related are,  I’m no longer getting boosts, nor do I get any draft box. The fellow I was “trying” to ride with was getting both during the ride.

(Richard Hadfield WBR(B)) #3

Mine seemed to go the other way and got easier. Could be that the cold here in U.K. made it easier to keep heart rate down, could be that I am fitter. But FTP just jumped 10% immediately after the update. I have tacx I-genius smart.

(Lisa Stone) #4

I have not had problems in Erg mode. But the free ride resistance seems higher. I have dialed down the trainer resistance setting to see if it changes.

(Olaf Hey) #5

The missing boosts and draft boxes has been the TT bike I used. I didn’t knew these implications.

Yesterday I switched bike, unpaired / paired smart trainer again and so far it feels good to me.

(jim h) #6

ive just heard about the “improved resistance feel of qubo digital smart b+ trainers” not sure if this actually means the resistance has been increased but lately im finding workouts harder (in erg mode).

this may well be due to my fitness falling (this is what i assume) but with the vague wording in the update it would be nice to know one way or the other.

(Keith Allen 85kg PACK ZSUN) #7