Tire slip Tacx Neo

For the last couple of days, I’ve gotten a tire slipping sensation within a few minutes of starting aide. I’ve been using Zwift for 2 years and it’s the first time something like this has happened, I’m not getting any slippage pop-up messages either. I did a test ride in Rouvy and Tacx and didn’t have any issues. The trainer seems to be connected properly; although a couple of times a “connection failure” message popped up in the top left corner of the screen where the W/RPM/BPM data appears. I even uninstalled and reinstalled Zwift. At reinstall I got a message saying insufficient storage, so I deleted a bunch of apps, etc. Then after reinstall I managed to ride for about 15 min before the slipping occurred again. I’m stumped and frustrated. Anybody have any thoughts?

More information about your setup, please. The Tacx Neo is a ‘wheel off’ trainer, so I am confused as to how you could have any tire slippage. The only thing I can think of is that you have ‘road feel’ turned on and are riding on a non-paved section of road.

I seem to remember this being an issue on some of the older models of Tacx Neo that was only fixed more recently - not sure if that was in the 2 or only the 2T.

I found this article on the subject - Virtual Tire Slip Explained – Tacx Faqx

Maybe some Tacx Neo owners can chime in?

There is a phenomenon that allows the neo to feel like it’s slipping but mainly occurs when sprinting.

It’s only minor though. They eliminated it with the 2T

I’ve read that article. It it doesn’t answer my issue. My Neo is a 2018, so fairly new.

The slipping is happening during regular pedalling, not specifically on sprints or climbs.

Correct Steve, I have no tire, but when I pedal, the motion isn’t smooth or continuous, it’s jerk as if a tire was slipping with resistance. I’m completely baffled.

I hope it’s not the case, but it could be that the trainer has gone faulty. Would be worth contacting Tacx support.