The stars that show up by your segments

(Shelley Russell) #1

I am a newbie.  Did the FTP text Sunday and started a training program to increase by FTP.  When I am doing my training and the segments you do I get gold stars for some, partial gold stars for others and none on some.  What does that mean?

Shelley Russell

(Tyler Shannon) #2

Hi Shelley, 

Welcome to Zwift!

Stars are awarded per segment. 

• Full star means you completed the entire segment successfully. 

• Partial star means you only successfully completed a portion of the segment

• No star means you failed the entire segment 

(Zee Kryder) #3

Unfortunately, that isn’t totally true. If the wattage says 200 and you do something over like 221 average, it will say you failed the segment. Overachieving is not failure, but zwift thinks it is.

(Gerrie Delport) #4

Overachieving is a fail. The point of a training program is to stay in a certain prescribed Zone, that mean not going under or over. 

(Zee Kryder) #5

No, it isn’t a fail. It’s better than the goal. A star and a half would be good. 

But, it would be 10 times better if the segment ended and just said “avg watts 224”

(Tyler Shannon) #6

Hi Zee, 

Going over a segment is failing a segment. The segments are there to target specific things. As an example, if a segment were to ask for 75 RPM in order to work on your low cadence, and you did 95 RPM for the segment, you did not do better than the segment, you failed it.

Some workouts are there to target specific muscle groups, where the wattage will help work on those groups. Going over negates the purpose of the workout. 

(Shelley Russell) #7