Same Watts feel much harder in Zwift - Computrainer & Mac

Hi there

I’m new to Swift and have used it a couple of times already, I use a Computrainer & Mac (OS X 10.11.5).

In both rides, at roughly the same power value, i’m experiencing a  “harder than usual” resistance in the Zwift app (on a flat terrain) rather than in stand alone ERG mode on the Computrainer (not connected to a computer and using just the head unit).

For example @ 140watt on stand alone ErgMode Computrainer i’m able to keep a more agile cadence, around 85/90rpm, while in Zwift it feels really hard and my cadence drops at 60-70rpm.

If there’s a bit of an incline, like +0.5% the climb feels even harder & cadence drops further.
1% feels like i’m climbing at 10-12% in real road conditions. 
Very strange.

Computrainer is calibrated before starting Zwift at around 2.3 pounds… I usually keep the value between 2.00-2.30.

Has anyone experienced the same?
Any words of wisdom to have a more realistic resistance translation?

thank you

Milly

1 Like

Try adjusting the Trainer Difficulty setting to a lower value. Despite the unfortunate name, it is really best thought of as selecting a different cassette. Lowering the setting is like switching from an 11-23 to a 12-25 or 27 (at least that’s how I understand it, and the effect that I see). So, you rely more on cadence and cardio, vs raw power.

1 Like

I have two computrainers and use them on Mac and Windows and I’ve never experienced this.  I second the suggestion to experiment with the difficulty setting.  In general I find about 30-40% to be the sweet spot, but even the default at 50% feels okay but the 100% setting is simply awful in terms of simulation value.

Another thought, is the chipset version of your CT perhaps a bit on the older side?  It shows on the display of the yellow brick when you power up the load generator.  Mine says something like 43.45.

Thanks JD & Duane for feedback.

Computrainer chip is like yours at 43.45.