Rig Option

Hi there,

I’m looking for some advice for putting together my first Zwift / Peloton / Multi App indoor cycling rig. I’m completely new to the indoor cycling world, so please excuse if I’ve completely missed something here.

My budget sits around $1400 Canadian, and I have come up with the following scenario after doing a fair bit of reading on the forums, googling and youtube.

• Bike: Sunny Health SF-B1002: $587 + tax (amazon)
  • Power Pedals: Garmin Vector 3 Single Side Meter Pedals: $587 + tax (probikekit)
  • Heart Rate Sensor: Wahoo Fitness Tracker: $100 + tax (amazon)

I guess my four main concerns are the following;

• Is this set-up adequate for a fair and reliable experience using Zwift?
  • Am I over or under spending on one of the components?
  • Have I missed something I may need to purchase?
  • Do I need cycling shoes for these pedals?

I should add that I have connectivity to either an iPad, Apple TV or MacBook as options for displaying the software.

Thank you in advance for any help / 2 cents you can offer.

Mikey

Yes. You need shoes that are compatible with Look Keo cleats. I believe most road cycling shoes are compatible.

Because you are mounting power meter pedals I am assuming that the trainer does not communicate power. I am also going to assume that your trainer is not controllable by Zwift so you’d be missing out on a big part of the Zwift experience. You need a trainer where the resistance can be controlled by external Bluetooth or ANT+.

Wahoo TICKR Heart Rate Monitor Amazon.com

Should be able to get a Wahoo Tckr strap for about $50.

I am not sure if the Garmin pedals measure cadence as well but you only need cadence if you want to do workouts using ERG mode.

1 Like