powerups - arghh

(Big Vern) #1

in my view a terrible idea, thought this was a serious training tool… what’s the point when you see people passing you by virtue of powerups, destroys any semblance of true competition…

(Mark Minn HPP) #2

Just read the 'What’s new" email, and yeah…sounds like a bad idea…though I haven’t seen it in use yet.

(Allan Watkins) #3

This is still a game.

I’m an amateur cyclist, I ride 6 days a week and maybe 8-12 hrs total time depending on the week. If a “power up” – just like new wheels / bike / etc… in real life is what causes me to lose a “race” then there are other issues I should worry about more like losing another 15lbs or possibly accepting that I need to continue my training until I am actually a better rider.

(Chris Hayward (B)) #4

Their goal is entertainment, the video game aspect

HOWEVER, idea: I imagine at a later date there will be “rooms/races” that you can join from a lobby.

Perhaps there could be rooms/races that do not allow powerups.

(Big Vern) #5

2 replies mention game ; really, in that case lets start dishing out light sabres so we can chop each others leg off, I realise it’s gotta be entertaining but for someone like me with a powermeter I like to deal with facts.
Like Chris’s idea of different ‘rooms’ though to get round it…horse for courses then…

(Clint Westhoff) #6

Not having tried it yet, I’m probably responding too soon, but the “serious training” aspect of this is all psychological. If powerups provide a psychological boost then they are working and should be kept, if they don’t they shouldn’t be. However, it’s all in your head anyway so it is your attitude and perspective that determine whether these will be a motivator or demotivator. I never saw my kids throw away their controllers when a Mario Kart got a rocket boost; instead they got excited because that was their attitude. Powerups that are fun, and equally earnable, or discoverable, by everyone sound fun and motivational to me.

(Big Vern) #7