Not achieving (receiving yellow star) some sections when not pedalling for a few seconds

(Ernie Bredenhann) #1

Hi all, I am brand new to Zwift with my new Wahoo Kickr. I started following a training program in order to do a 160km mtb race soon.

My issue, now and then my butt starts getting numb from sitting all the time, and this far I have not done steep inclines at slow, heavy resistance pedalling that requires me to get out the saddle to pedal.

For example, I need to pedal say at 125W for 10 minutes, and even though it is not hard pedalling, when my backside starts getting numb, and I stop pedalling to stand for a few sections for some blood flow to return LOL, the program tells me to increase power, which I understand.

So, an option is to get out the saddle to pedal, but the resistance is too low and the speed too fast to do a controlled standing ride. It feels like I am rocking all over the place, not enough resistance, legs all over the place, afraid I might break the bike and the axle etc.

Therefor to keep the bike still I rather opt to stand up but stop pedalling for about 10 seconds before I resume. Like you would have done out on the gravel going down a slight downhill just getting out the saddle, freeing and getting the butt in shape again.

And this results in the program telling me that I have not achieved that section, and at the end of the program I might have achieved 11/15 sections for instance. It is probably nothing, and I know it was not a fitness issue, but I rather get 15/15. Any advise?

Follow-on question please. The yellow stars to the left of the section (achieved vs non-achieved sections), does that count towards anything in any case?

thx

(John Binns) #2