New update Saving in middle of event

I have a custom workout for pre-race activities. I was entered for a race and joined the event from the pre-race workout. I did not close out of the warm up and joined the race event 2 minutes before start. 8 minutes into the race a screen popped up and said saving event. After a few seconds a continue button appeared and a block stated 1 day streak. When I clicked on it closed the race event and took me to the opening page. I could not rejoin the race.

This something new. It used to save all events at the end of the riding for the day. It only happened after the update. Was using an iPad.