New to biking (in general) / Must Improve Cardiovascular Heath

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to the Zwift forum. I’m also a complete novice bike rider. I learned to ride as a kid. Rarely rode my bike during my youth, and haven’t since.

I let myself go and am very out of shape. I’m a 37 year old male, 5’11 and ~250 pounds. When I was in decent shape, 6 years ago, I was probably around 170 pounds. My health has suffered and I’m on a mission to get into the best shape of my life (however long that takes) and change my lifestyle for good.

I’ve always found treadmills to be boring, not that stationary bikes are any better. But Zwift looks like a lot of fun and very motivating.

I don’t want to spend a ton of money. My limit is $1000ish, but I’d prefer to spend less if $1000 isn’t a drastic improvement over something in the $500 dollar range.

I looked for info online, but it’s just information overload and I’d love to hear your advice on:

1. What should I get?
  2. How to best approach improving my cardiovascular health starting from zilch.

Thank you,

Daniel

If you just want to ride for fun and for getting in shape then any reliable trainer will do.

If you want it to be interactive, then get a smart trainer (can be wheel-on).

You can use whichever bike you’re comfortable with, so long as it’s compatible with your trainer if choice. You should be able to get both for $500. Granted this would be on the low end, but it would function just fine.
If you really start enjoying it you can upgrade later when you get the chance.

PS: welcome aboard :slight_smile:

Ales, thank you very much for responding and the wise advice.

Yeah, my main goal is to get my resting heart rate in order and to lose weight.

Do you have any recommendations regarding a bike and a smart trainer? If you don’t have concrete examples, maybe you have a website that you like that gives objective advice.

Any bike will work as long as it fits you and fits on the trainer.