Missing the draft effect

(Steve Swan - PVC (C)) #1

Are there any tricks or tips for drafting?

i’ve been riding on Zwift for a couple of months and have had flawless performance from my Wahoo Snap Kickr don’t seem to be getting any draft effect when riding behind a few riders, or when I’m in a big pack.   I can also tell by looking at my power output that there doesn’t seem to be any difference from riding solo to riding in a group at the same speed and gradient.

I don’t see any recent comments / complaints on this.  Am I missing something?

(Todd Taylor) #2

I’ve been riding Zwift for several months and I’ve always found it hard to draft. Feeling any benefit from a draft is very sporadic for me, some times I can, sometimes I can’t.  In my ride last night, I was trying to draft a rider and my watts/kg didn’t go down at all when I appeared to be drafting.  We were both using smart trainers.

(L Read) #3

Yes, Zwift drafting effect is hit and miss and mediocre at best. There is just not enough of a draft effect, and once you are behind someone, it is hard to get out of their draft to follow an overtaking rider.

compared to Netathlon vr software, Zwift drafting is really lacking in realism.

(Kendall Bennett (amaincycling.com)) #4

Same here, I do not notice any power reduction or resistance reduction when I am in the draft using my Wahoo KICKR either. 

(David Tyler ZHR (G)) #5

Me niether. I put my ANT dongle a couple of inches away from my KickR using an extension cable but it made no difference. I was in a big group ride yesterday for a while and there was no draft effect at all. I was over 4 watts per kilo for a while so backed down to around 2.5 to 3 watts to match everybody around me. I was now riding a lot easier but still in the group.

I have noticed that when you come up behind a rider you tend not to fly past them anymore and you can sit behind them but as L Read pointed out. it takes a big effort to pass them when you decide to go.