Lack of support for beginners

(Patrick Treptau) #1

Love the concept behind Zwift! Thank you!

However here are some annoying parts:

NO WORKOUTS FOR BEGINNERS
There are no training plans (not a single one!) on Zwift catering to the average, untrained cyclist. That is not really Zwift-specific, but I noticed the complete lack of beginner workouts in BKool, Rouvy, etc. - surely not all users are seasoned cycling pros? Where is the love for us average guys that just want to get a little fitter and start out, with realistic and achievable workouts?

The beginner FTP builder is not anywhere in reach for me, because in the beginning I couldn’t even cycle for 30mins, let alone 4-5 times a day. I didn’t even know what cadence to start out, what wattage to aim for, if I should try to hold a zone or do intervals, etc.

It took me awhile and several hours of research to find a complete beginners training plan (British Cycling Beginner Training Plan to 50km) to create my own training plan, but still… why are there no beginner trainings plans (8-12 wks, 3x week)?

UNFAIR W/KG FOR HEAVIER GUYS
As a heavier beginner (100kg) with an abysmal FTP (128), my W/KG is nowhere near the average class D or class E ride. I don’t consider myself obsese or completely untrained, I just have a little bit more weight on my bones.

I participated in one group E ride advertised with 1.2-1.5 W/KG and after a few meters the group left me in the dust with 2.0 W/KG. 140W for me equates to 1.4 W/KG for my weight, whereas a 65kg cyclist would have a very respectable 2.15 W/KG. Surely, that cannot be make that much of a difference for us big guys? Pretty much all of social and group features are non-existant for me.

Show us bigger guys some love! :slight_smile:

NO HEART RATE ZONES FOR WORKOUTS
Most training plans that I saw online recommend heart rate zones over % FTP. Would be great to see this implemented, also on the main cycling screen next to the current heart rate.

MENU NAVIGATION