Kickr Snap or Tacx Vortex Smart

I am just starting out. I have a cylceops Mag+, and would like to get a “smart” trainer. 

I can’t decide between the Kickr Snap or the Tacx Vortex Smart. The Snap is more money but has a bigger flywheel. 

Any opinions either way?

Thank you,

I can’t comment on a Kickr Snap but I really like my Vortex Smart and prefer it over my Computrainer. I would hesitate to get another Vortex if I needed one

Have a look here for some more information:

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2015/11/2015-2016trainer-recommendations.html

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2015/06/wahoo-kickr-snap.html

I have a Kickr (not snap) and love it.  If you had the money I would lean towards the Snap but do not think you can go wrong with either.

I cannot comment on the Kickr, but I am riding on the Vortex smart since November. It works great and with Zwift and is good enough if you are pushing over 700 watts for some time.

I actually ride a lot more since I using Vortex/Zwift, so my only danger is that the 750W is not sufficient anymore :slight_smile:

My feeling is that the price quality for a amateur level (up to 4w/kg) is better for the Tacx

It seems odd to only compare those two trainers? Why just those two?

The Vortex is £260 and the Snap is £440. The snap is almost double the price.

A more valid comparison would be to the Tacx Genius which at £460 is closely priced to the Snap. If I’m reading the website right the Snap can do 10% slope, the Genius 20%, although the Snap has more intetia - 140kg vs 125kg

As a middle ground there’s also the Bushido at £360.

I’ve been using a Kickr Snap daily for the past 3 weeks (on Zwift). My prior trainer was a dumb KK Rock and Roll with Pro flywheel.

1. The Snap is VERY quiet. FAR quieter than a Kickr I tried (but returned);

2. The “feel” of the Snap is very good – smooth and excellent flywheel inertia. The KK was slightly better but Snap is surprisingly good for magnetic (instead of fluid) resistance.