Gluing Wahoo TICKR electrodes back to strap?

I know this isn’t strictly a Zwift subject, but since I’ve been using my original TICKR strap with Zwift for three years, I’m wondering if anyone else here has successfully glued back the peeling ends of the electrodes on the elastic strap. Mine have been peeling for about a year and I feel like I should stop it getting worse. (Sure, I could just buy a replacement strap, but I dislike throwing out things that could be easily repaired.)

What kind of glue is recommended? Rubber cement? Something specific for elasticated fabric? I did some googling but couldn’t find an obvious solution. Haven’t contacted Wahoo, yet.

This unit has been working flawlessly for me since 2019, with over 700 hours in Zwift and three batteries. After each ride, I put the strap in a small bowl of warm water for five minutes, squeeze it out and hang to dry. I’m guessing that the heat of the water has broken down the glue. Fortunately, the damage is only cosmetic, since the strap holds the electrodes to my skin when the unit is worn, but I don’t want it to get any worse. Thanks in advance for any advice.

I had this happen, twice. Replaced the first with the same model and replaced the second with a different one.

I know this isn’t a solution for you, I think it’s just a fault of the equipment.

1 Like

Rubber cement is too weak. I would try a thin layer of Gorilla Clear Grip. (And apply sustained pressure to the area, wait 24 hours.) Contact cement or silicone adhesive might work, too.

1 Like

This is what you want

2 Likes

Thanks for the swift replies, @James_Zwift, @Paul_Southworth, and @Randy_Jensen.
Much appreciated.

Pending a possible reply to a support request I sent to Wahoo (after creating this thread), I’m planning to test two possible solutions (waterproof seam grip and polyurethane-based contact glue, one each side), and writing up the results here after a while.

1 Like