First look and wattage?

(robert johnston) #1

This is just about what I think of your swift.  First I will use it for training and then maybe if it is bad weather outside for just rest rides.  So far I have done a ftp test and 2 trainer rides from GCN.  Like the layout and the start stop zones and the sounds to tell me they are coming up.  Not really fused about the graphics as you will never be able to compete with the real out doors. 

My hiccup is the virtual wattage,  I think it should be more staple. As it is, it just about works.  I can only assume it works by speed and Cadence.  My problem with it is that my cadence ain’t smooth and the wattage jumps wildly at times, which then stops me from achieving that part of the workout.  It would be nice if you could clamp that down a bit to speed rather than cadence.

I have been cycling for 8+ years and know my working avg heartrate.  I have a minoura b60 trainer and setting L is way to easy for me, I need setting 3.  The point I’m making is once you know the right setting, I like the wattage, but it needs to be more stable.  Its like my Garmin verb % gradient instrument, it jumps from one side to the other and in between you might get a close reading of the gradient your on lol.    

I do like what I see so far, The fact that you can get some kind of wattage reading is good, just needs to be tighter in my case.  I also think you should have zones of say 5 sec for gear changing, we don’t all have electronic smooth gear shifters.  These the user can turn on or off when they pick their training ride.  Hope this helps some.

(Paul Allen) #2