Downhills and coasting on smart trainer

(Greg Clauson) #1

Hey all!  i am new to zwift, but after two days, i am fully addicted.  I do have a question though.  While on uphills, my Kickr fully adjusts for the incline as it should (i have the dial all the way to 100) but it seems on small downhills, i still need to pedal to accelerate (although its much faster as it should be) but shouldnt i coast down even a 1% grade?  In real life i would, but on there it seems i cannot coast at all on anything 1-2% as i would in real life. I mean, i am 255 pounds, so i get nice momentum haha.  

(Paul Graham) #2

Hi Greg

I would guess your speed on entering the decline will dictate if you coast and at what speed you coast. 

I use the Kickr and understand what you are saying but for me, coasting is relatively constant with what I would expect outside.

Have you been up and then down Watopia mountain to test your coasting?

I’m thinking you’ve probably done it, but the ‘spin-down’ calibration is important on the coasting stuff.

Ride on!

(Greg Clauson) #3

Hi Paul,

Thanks for responding, i think you are probably right.  I am a pretty slow rider (14-15 MPH) so i am sure on the small little “hills” i have rode on, i wasnt fast enough to coast, even if in real life i would have, albeit slow.  I have done the spindown both on the wahoo app and the one on Zwift.  I will attempt the Watopia mountain, or at least some hill training or something so i can quit worrying about it.  Thanks sir!

(Nigel Doyle) #4

On Zwift if you coast on low gradient downhills without pedalling you’ll eventually stop. Say you want to finish your ride on Zwift and hop off your bike, if you carry on coasting until your rider hits a flat part you might be waiting a while for your rider to stop and the menu button pops up.