cycleops magnus resistance control no longer works

(Scott Huang) #1

hello,

I started using zwift a couple of months ago and am using a cycleops magnus 09526 254 trainer.  Starting sunday night the resistance control stopped working.  I’m not sure if it’s because I started using an ant+ usb and garmin heart rate strap or what.  I’ve unplugged the ant+ dongle, rebooted my machine and started zwift, but the resistance control still doesn’t work.  -.5% grade feels the same as 4% grade.  I had been using zwift and this trainer for a couple of months without issue. please help!

scott

(Scott Huang) #2

by the way, here is my entire setup.

I’m running zwift launcher version 1.0.11  1.018779 on a macbook pro

I’m using bluetooth to connect the cycleops magnus trainer to zwift.  the firmware on my cycleops magnus trainer is version 31.  I asked the cycleops guys if that was the latest version of the firmware. 

I’m using GXG-1987 Mini ANT+ USB Dongle Adapter and a garmin heart rate monitor strap.  

As I said earlier, prior to sunday things worked fine. the ANT+ USB Dongle and heart rate strap were added to the mix on sunday and that’s when the problems started.  However, I also saw that you released an update this week so I don’t know what the culprit is.  Please help!  Sunday night I was able to get things working through a series of reboots, restarts, pairing and unpairing.  Tonight I was not able to get things working.  

(Evan LARDINOIS RCC) #3

Hey Scott,

Take a look at this thread. Some other users have had similar issues with varied success. 

https://support.zwift.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/115000396563-Cycleops-Magnus-ANT-Power-Drops

Also, could you re-calibrate your trainer? I did not see it mentioned above but maybe I missed it.

(Tyler Shannon) #4

Hi Scott, 

This is a potential new bug. I’m opening a ticket so we can work with you more closely. Thank you! 

(Adam Smith Burnsco BSR (ZNZ)) #5

Hi guys,