Bug in Zwiftpower calculating categories

When doing some checks for Mad Monday races tonight, I noticed a bug in Zwiftpower calculating the category correctly. It’s likely a rare bug, but reporting this nevertheless:

Have a look at the following profile (ID 1433063):

This person’s best 3 efforts in last 90 days (95% of 20 minute) are 2.894 w/kg, 2.850 w/kg and 2.806 w/kg. However, somehow Zwiftpower is not using the 2.850 w/kg for the calculation.

Educated guess as a dev myself: perhaps the script is grouping the best efforts of a person to the best efforts per day (before starting to average the 3 best efforts), omitting the 2.850 w/kg data for September 6th (due to the other entry for September 6th).

EDIT: Screenshot data anonymized

Correct; it takes only the best effort on the day.

It’s always been that way.

1 Like

Alright thank you Sticky! And if I’m not mistaken you were the original developer of Zwiftpower, so thank you very much for all your work. Really impressive what you’ve built with Zwiftpower. :+1: :heart:

Just two questions out of curiosity: was there any rationale as to why you’d first take the best effort per day, before searching for the best 3 values?

Also as I have been testing some calculations in recent days, would it be an idea for future Zwift developments by Zwift HQ to only use race efforts for the average? Intuitively I was calculating the Zwift averages first by only looking to races. By also mixing the group rides etc. it decreases the estimated FTP for people who have raced less than 3 races in the last 90 days. (eg. 1 race at 3.0 w/kg and 2 group rides at 2.0 w/kg would give a much lower estimated FTP on Zwiftpower than just 1 race at 3.0 w/kg)

Zwift’s new CE system uses your best performances for the 2-50min power curve regardless of ride type. IMO, it’s very unlikely Zwift would make any changes to the ZP cat system given CE is replacing it (see this thread for more info - first post is the one to read).

1 Like