Bring back Zwift rowing project

I have been using Zwift for many years. It’s been great. I was very excited a couple years ago to find out Zwift was working on rowing, but recently I found out Zwift rowing was canceled. I know there is a way if using a Concept 2 rower with a pm5 to row your bike around Zwift. I think they should take a break from making new bike routes and get some basic rowing stuff in there. It would open Zwift up to many more users. Certainly a better return on investment than adding another cycling route.

Do you want them to take a break from bug fixes as well?

I like the idea of rowing but there is so much that needs development on cycling i don’t think they have anywhere near enough resource to look at rowing would be my guess. And the user base is much smaller compared to cyclists so I’m not sure how profitable it would be.

1 Like

It’s unlikely the team fixing bugs would be the same team to develop rowing. They could likely do both at the same time. My point is that we have an abundance of routes and different worlds to ride on now. They could take a break from creating more and bring in rowing. Adding more routes wont bring in new customers but adding rowing would. I would gladly pay a little more every month to have access to rowing as well. The ROI on a new route would be nothing at this point but would be significant by adding rowing.

I’d be tempted to try it.

1 Like

Do you remember a little while ago (mid/late 2020?) there was a Zwift survey? The results of that survey indicated that there was not currently a large enough market for rowing to make it a worthwhile investment of resources.

Zwift therefore directed their resource towards other areas and shelved any progress that had been made on rowing.

There have been a couple of interviews with both Mayfield & Min that state that rowing is not a dead duck but it is on hold for the short-medium future.

No less profitable than Zwift running I’d guess, since that’s free. :smiley: