Beginner (out of shape) rider and workout suggestions

(Nightyear) #1

Hello, I’m new to Zwift and new to disciplined cycling in general.  I’ve ridden a bike all of my life but I’m trying to unlearn some bad habits and get in better shape. 

I should start by saying I’m fairly overweight (250lbs/6’1") and have some heart issues, but my cardiologist has been impressed at how well my elevated resting heart rate has responded to exercise. I was regularly at 100bpm sitting in a chair, and now I’m down to 80bpm without medication. The goal is to avoid the meds if at all possible, and so far so good.  

As soon as I start pedaling I’m back up to 130-140bpm though, so it’s clear i’m not in good shape at all. I can get myself to about 180bpm fairly quickly, and if I stay there for more than 5 minutes I start getting headaches and dizziness, and I turn a lovely shade of purple. After a cardiac stress test the doc says I should stay from 130-150bpm, with occasional peaks at 160, so I’m trying to abide by that. I used to be very proud of my pain tolerance, but he’s observed that I am capable of ignoring serious health symptoms while working out, and I’m kinda enjoying being alive, so I’m doing my best to be good while trying to get in better shape.  

My kit is a Giant Revolt 2 bike fitted at the local bike shop, a Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll smart trainer, a wahoo sc cadence meter, and an apple watch for heart rate. I used a chest strap with the cardiologist for a bit and he compared it to the apple watch, and found it was within 1-2bpm, which surprised him and me, but I prefer not wearing the chest strap if I don’t have to, and I deal with the finicky issues with pairing it.  I did my firmware updates and a few spin-down calibrations, and made sure there’s no slippage and I’m .3sec from the sweet spot as far as timing.