Beginner feedback on Zwift Workouts

(Nightyear) #1

I’m a beginner and have only done about 18 workouts with Zwift. I’m still figuring out how to smooth out my pedaling technique and ride consistency, and I’m still quite a bit out of shape and overweight.  So I don’t think I represent your seasoned rider demographic, but I wanted to give some casual rider feedback.  

1. I like the workouts. Not to bad mouth other platforms that begin with a P, but I don’t enjoy the live workout experience of having a strange person yell at me, I like the solitude of riding, and Zwift delivers on that.  I wish there was a “just getting started with cycling” section that gave coaching specifically on technique while riding around zwift, but for now the FTP builder workout has been good.  

2. I like that there are other riders around me, but their presence doesn’t impact my workout positively or negatively. No drafting, no in-game interaction like me stealing power-ups from them unintentionally, etc.  When I’m ready for group rides that’ll be fun I’m sure, but I like that I can train in peace while still observing others having fun.    

3. I get frustrated at the lack of feedback in workout mode, telling me if I’m meeting the requirements of a given segment. I’ve gotten “Failed” or “Ok” when I’ve been busting my tail to meet the goals, and have no idea why.  It’s usually on the rest segments when I’m trying to let the trainer spin down a bit before engaging again, and the shorter the segment the greater chance of failure.  Once I get a “Failed” that seems wrong or capricious (e.g. it wasn’t me just being slow or out of breath) it mentally just takes away from the rest of the workout.  Some sort of realtime feedback on what factors into Perfect, Ok, and Failed would be really helpful here.  A realtime avg cadence/avg wattage meter to try and match up against the segment targets would really help.