Advice on zwifting for charity - how far do I cycle?

Hello all,
Looking for a bit of advice…

I’m planning on doing a sponsored cycle on zwift to raise money for a cause quite close to me.

The thing I need help with is how many miles is achievable over a weekend?

The plan is Friday night, Sat and Sun. I want to complete before the weekend ends.

My friends are saying 500 miles because I’m Scottish and I’d raise more money for the comedy (Proclaimers song).

The charity are doing a “600” campaign and 600km is 372 miles.

Do you think either 500 or 372 miles are achievable over a weekend and at my level?

I’m fairly new to cycling, got into zwift at the start of the year but now I cycle twice per week, usually 25>30 mile and around 2000ft elevation each ride.

At 30 miles my body is starting to fatigue a bit, I’ve never tried any further, purely because I try to keep the run under 2hrs. I’ve probably cycled 500 miles in total over the last 10 weeks.

What’s your opinion on 372 miles or 500 miles over a weekend? Too much? Any advice?

Both seem like a lot given what you’ve said. Go the smaller one if they are your only two options.

Because you will be pacing yourself you will be going slower (zone 1or 2) so it will take a long time. Ride at zone 1/2 for an hour and see what speed/distance you do on the flat. Use that to get an idea of how long certain rides will take.

1 Like

Hi Ben,
Thanks for the input, sorry if this is me being thick, what’s zone 1 and zone 2?

I’ve never came across zones when cycling. I just set a route / loop, usually Watopia or London, something with an elevation less than 2000 and generally 20+ miles. London loop as an example. I’ve never seen zones?

Cheers,
Ewan

Have you done an FTP test? I’d suggest doing the FTP ramp test and stop the ramp when you fail to meet the target power. Once you finish the test zwift will give you an FTP estimate which will save your your profile.